Robert Lewandowski & Victor Osimhen make history with respective top-scorer awards

Robert Lewandowski & Victor Osimhen make history with respective top-scorer awards

Both Robert Lewandowski and Victor Osimhen, on Sunday, secured special pieces of goalscoring history.

This comes after the prolific frontmen were crowned the top scorers of their respective domestic leagues.

Beginning with the former, Lewandowski is of course fresh off a fine debut campaign in Spain, which saw the Polish international rack up 23 goals, en route to the La Liga title.

This proved enough to beat out the competition to the prestigious Pichichi prize, four goals clear of runner-up Karim Benzema.

Not only that, but, as revealed in the aftermath of Sunday’s final day action, ‘Lewa’ did so without netting a single league penalty across the term’s length.

This means that the former Bayern Munich standout has become the first player to secure Spanish top-flight top scorer status without the help of a spot-kick since Dani Guiza, all the way back in 2008.

#OJOALDATO – Robert Lewandowski es el primer jugador que logra ser el máximo goleador de una temporada de La Liga, sin marcar ni un solo tanto de penalti, desde que lo hiciera Dani Güiza en la campaña 2007-08.

— MisterChip (Alexis) (@2010MisterChip) June 4, 2023

Video Victor Osimhen made history season in Serie A 🇳🇬

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Welcome to our news website, your go-to source for up-to-date and comprehensive information on the latest happenings from around the world. We pride ourselves on delivering accurate, unbiased, and engaging news content across a wide range of categories, ensuring that you stay informed and connected to the global events that matter most.