Women’s Nines Rugby League returns to Victoria Park this weekend

Women’s Nines Rugby League returns to Victoria Park this weekend

Women’s Rugby League Nines will return to Victoria Park, Warrington on Sunday (May 14) after a thrilling inaugural tournament in 2022.

Last year, the individual brilliance of England international Tara Jane Stanley proved the difference when her York side clinched a 7-0 final victory over Leeds Rhinos to be crowned the first ever Women’s Nines champions.

This year’s competition will once again see all 12 Betfred Women’s Super League sides taking part, alongside ‘invitation’ teams including Leamington Royals, Cardiff Demons, Newcastle Thunder, London Broncos and Workington Town. 

Teams have been drawn into five groups with the top team from each – plus one wildcard – making it through to Finals Day at Salford’s AJ Bell Stadium on Saturday June 24. 

Title holders York Valkyrie will face Betfred Women’s Super League Two opposition in Barrow Raiders, plus developing sides Hull FC and Workington Town, with 2022 runner up Leeds Rhinos set for a West Yorkshire derby against Bradford Bulls, as well as matches against Salford Red Devils and Cardiff Devils. 

Elsewhere, and in another sign of the growth being made in women’s Rugby League, the Midlands will be represented for the first time by Leamington Royals who have been drawn against Huddersfield Giants, Warrington Wolves and Oldham RLFC. 

Current Challenge Cup holders St Helens face Featherstone Rovers, Hull KR and Newcastle Thunder and Wigan Warriors, Leigh Leopards, Castleford Tigers, and London Broncos complete the group stage fixtures. 

Play will run from 10.30am to 4pm with entry on the day free and much like last year’s event, the occasion will have a festival feel, including educational workshops focusing on the women’s game. 

Nines Rugby League matches are played over two nine-minute halves, with five points for a try scored in the bonus zone under the posts and two for a drop-kicked conversion attempt. Squads will consist of up to 15 players, with unlimited interchanges allowed from the six-strong bench.

Entry to the event on Sunday is free, and anyone wishing to attend the Women & Girls coaching workshop is advised to sign up here. 

Groups are as follows: 

Group One 

  • Huddersfield Giants 
  • Warrington Wolves 
  • Leamington Royals 
  • Oldham RLFC 

Group Two 

  • Leeds Rhinos 
  • Bradford Bulls 
  • Salford Red Devils 
  • Cardiff Demons 

Group Three 

  • St Helens 
  • Featherstone Rovers 
  • Hull KR 
  • Newcastle Thunder 

Group Four 

  • Wigan Warriors 
  • Leigh Leopards 
  • Castleford Tigers 
  • London Broncos 

Group Five 

  • York Valkyrie 
  • Barrow Raiders 
  • Hull FC 
  • Workington Town 

Like this story, share it…

Video Not many are stopping Sergis from here! Evania Pelite 👏 #shorts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *